Printer-friendly version


Dr Stephen Akaranga

                        Brief History
The philosophy thematic unit was established in the Faculty of Arts of the University of Nairobi in 1969 as part of the larger Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies under the Chairmanship of Professor Stephen Neil. In its earlier years, the composition of the academic staff was predominantly expatriate, but since the 1980’s, a strong and successful programme of Kenyanization was implemented. The Department continued to grow steadily and was split in 1980 into two separate departments:

  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Religious Studies

In 2005, the two departments were merged with the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies of the College of Education and External Studies based at Kikuyu campus to form a current combined Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies.

Click to view Other Teaching Staff Philosophy

Click to view Course Units

Possible Careers in Philosophy







Message from the Dean

Doctorate Holders

Community Outreach


University of Nairobi,

School of Education,

P.O Box 92-00902,





Mobile: 0724 692 079

Tel: 020-4916511


UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi