Printer-friendly version

The School of Education is one of the two Schools constituting the College of Education and External Studies of the University of Nairobi.

It comprises of five administrative units namely:

  • The office of the Dean, and four teaching departments:
  • Department of Educational Administration and Planning
  • Department of Educational Communication and Technology
  • Department of Educational Foundations
  • Department of Physical Education and Sport  


                                PREVIOUS DEANS IN THE SCHOOL


Dr. Otieno Jowi 1988 - 1989


Prof. Patrick Digolo 1989 - 2000


Prof. Gerald Kimani 2000 - 2004


Prof. Lucy Kibera 2004 - 2008


Prof. Genevieve Wanjala 2008 - 2012


Prof. Samson Okuro Gunga 2012 - 2015


Prof. Winston Akala 2015- to date



























































  • Creation of the Department of Physical Education
  • Building Of the Education block, main lecture halls and the Library Complex at the library hill
  • Increase in the number of students from a  population of less than 500 to the current 3181students
  • Acquisition of Kenya science campus
  • Increase in the number of lecturers
  • Increase in the number of programmes offered by the school

Doctorate Holders

Community Outreach


University of Nairobi,

School of Education,

P.O Box 92-00902,


VoiP: 0204916511

Mobile:0724692 079


Pilot line Main Campus:

(+254) 020-491 0000

Pilot Line Kikuyu:

(+254) 020 491 6500



UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi